Rhythmic Gymnastics Fashion

I haven’t watched rhythmic gymnastics in awhile. Recently, I watched a documentary about Russian rhythmic gymnastics training. Alina Kabayeva was in the video and she mentioned that the FIG has been cutting the required elements more and more. This doesn’t sit well with Alina but I thought it might be interesting to see. I used to like Rhythmic but when they started having to do all those elements, it got really boring. I thought if the rules had changed maybe the sport was back to being more like the old rhythmic.

So I’ve watched a lot of rhythmic in the last few days. I wouldn’t say the sport is back to being like it was but one thing that has changed is the outfits. Some of the athletes are now wearing things that stick out of the leotards. Like the feathers in Margarita’s leotard. She also has another one with little butterflies or something on it. I saw some with pleats, rouging, and fabric flowers. These things must cost an arm and a leg.

Leave a Reply

